Einstein Signs a Proclamation for the Emergency Committee of Atomic Scientists
Proclamation, 17 September 1948

The committee is created in 1946 by Einstein and other prominent scientists like Hans A. Bethe, Edward U. Condon, Leo Szilard, Harold C. Urey and V.F. Weisskopf.

Its express purpose is to advance the peaceful use of atomic energy and actively advocate the international control of atomic weapons.

In 1951 it disbands because of the escalation of the Cold War.

[ Sitemap ] [ info ] This website was created by the MPI for the History of Science.